RSS

One of those Months

06 Nov

It has been that month. You know the month were it seems your kid is on the upward track and then it either a) stalls or b) takes a nose dive. That month when you question if you can do this thing called Home School and with your child with a disability. That month were friends and family (mostly family on my part, aaarrrrhhhhh!!!!) ask when you are going to get tutoring because the child is so far behind, in their eyes, that there is something wrong.

At times I just wanted to scream, “Yes, there is something wrong. He can’t communicate clearly thus he is struggling with reading. His little mind is trying so hard. And can we stop talking about him like he is not in the room!” That is what I am thinking but didn’t say. Luckily my husband was home from his business travels and shut the conversation down before I went praying mantis on everyone.

My remedy for this is family time. Not time with those family members who want to remain clueless but our own little family. I tend to need to recenter myself as a wife and mom with just the four of us having time together. This weekend will be spent outside and getting our energy out. We will explore the river, perhaps drive to the mountains, or there is always the Zoo or Discovery Center. A date night is happening this weekend too.

There is a day this month were I will get together with my friends. Who have a better understanding of my son then some family members. Why is that? A support system is key. I have written about this before. They pray for me, study the Bible with me, and truly rejoice and cry with me.

If you are having one of these months I encourage you to step back, reevaluate, and have some fun.

I hope your school year is off to a better start than mine. If you are having one of these months I encourage you to step back, reevaluate, and have some fun. I pray that each of you will find joy during each day.

May God give you patience and grace. Keep on trail blazing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2014 in Encouraging Words

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
